Sunday, December 1, 2013

INEC Declares Obiano Winner Of Anambra Guber Poll

Amid mass boycott by major political parties and voter apathy, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate in the Anambra State governorship election, Chief Willie Obiano, was last night declared the winner of the controversial poll.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said Obiano led other contestants in 19 of the 21 local government areas in the state.

According to the returning officer for the election, Prof James Epoke, Obiano scored 180, 178 votes to emerge the winner of the election. The result was announced at the INEC headquarters in Awka, the state capital.
Mr. Tony Nwoye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who along with the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Senator Chris Ngige and Labour Party (LP’s) Ifeanyi Ubah to boycott the election scored 97, 500. Ngige got 95, 963 to come third while Ubah had 37, 495 votes to occupy the fourth position.
 The APGA candidate had scored 174, 710 votes in the previous election to come first, while Nwoye got 94,956 votes. Ngige of the APC came third with 92,300 votes, while Ifeanyi Ubah of Labour Party was fourth with 37,446 votes.
Prof. Epoke said that Obiano met the 25 per cent constitutional requirement in two-thirds of the total vote cast in 19 of the 21 local government areas in the state, adding that INEC chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega would decide when the certificate of return would be issued to Obiano.
APGA chairman, Chief Victor Umeh, who commended INEC and security agents for their outstanding performance, said the election was won by his party on November 16. He said those crying foul were bad losers and compared them to students who blamed their teachers for their failure.   
Unlike the November 16 Anambra poll in which 23 political parties participated, only agents of APGA, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Action Alliance (AA) were seen at the various polling booths visited by LEADERSHIP Sunday yesterday.
The All Progressives Congress (APC) and Labour Party (LP) whose candidates Senator Chris Ngige and Ifeanyi Ubah who came third and fourth respectively during the earlier election which was declared inconclusive by INEC boycotted the election. Their supporters did not report at the polling boots and the eectoral body scored them zero
Though APC did not participate in the supplementary poll, some of its chieftains were seen at the various polling booths ostensible to gather evidence with which they will contest the result of the poll at the Election Petitions Tribunal.
There was low voter turn-out in the supplementary election.
The voter population in the 212 polling units where election took place yesterday is put at 113,113.

Post a Comment